Why do changed results in Bridgemate not change in Magic Contest?

This most likely happens because you have changed a setting in Bridgemate Control Software (BCS). This setting is found in Tools > Options > General and is called Erase original records of deleted scores.

The default value is that this setting is not active. It must remain not active for Magic Contest to interpret results correctly.

Unfortunately, Magic Contest does not know the value in BCS for this setting, and it can therefore not be controlled by Magic Contest.

Erase original records… = Not active

What normally happens when importing and deleting results, given that the setting is not active, is the following:

  • The original result (1) is shown in BCS
  • Magic imports it (1)
  • The tournament director deletes the result in Bridgemate
  • BCS show the deleted result (2) and keeps the original result (1)
  • Magic Contest deletes (1) only if (2) and (1) are the same
  • The new result (3) is entered and shown in BCS
  • Magic Contest skips (1) and (2) and imports the new result (3)

Erase original records… = Active (incorrect)

If you activate the BCS setting Erase original…, the sequence of importing results changes into this incorrect way:

  • The original result (1) is shown in BCS
  • Magic Contest imports it (1)
  • The tournament director deletes the result in Bridgemate
  • The original result (1) is deleted from BCS
  • Magic Contest keeps the original result (1) because there is no signal of the opposite
  • The new result (3) is entered and shown in BCS
  • Magic Contest ignores (3) in favour of the original result (1)

The reason Magic Contest ignores (3) is because the tournament director might have changed something in Magic Contest that has not been written to the Bridgemate database. To avoid that results in Magic Contest are overwritten, they are considered master results until manually changed in Magic Contest.