Why do I get PASS in Magic Contest when I enter 0=Not played in Bridgemate?

Q: When I have a slow table and use the Bridgemate button 0 = Not played, it says PASS in Magic Contest. Why is that? I want to give 50% to both pairs.

A: According to the bridge laws, there is nothing like “not played”. Every board has to have a result or a ruling. The ruling is made at the table, and is entered in the TD Menu in Bridgemate.

February 2018: Read more recent FAQ entry…

.

Bridgemate documentation for Magic Contest

In the Bridgemate documentation for Magic Contest, the following snippet can be found:

0=Not played or 0=Pass

At result entry in Bridgemate there is the option of pressing 0 (zero) and OK. The Bridgemate inventor’s intention is that this means not played board. After this entry a ruling of some kind is entered in the scoring program.

The problem is that too many people do not find the PASS button for passed hands but instead, quite logically, enter zero points through the 0 button.

For this reason Magic Contest interprets this as a passed hand, no matter what the original intention was.

If a ruling such as A-A- or A+A+ has to be entered this can be entered through the tournament director key.

.

Enter ruling in Bridgemate II

Enter the board number and press OK. Click TDMENU and select option 1. Enter 5 for N-S and 5 (=50%) for E-W if you want to award average to both pairs.

The detailed instructions are found in the Bridgemate II manual in the section called TD Menu:

www.bridgemate.com/…/BM2manual.pdf

.

Enter ruling in Bridgemate Pro

Enter the board number and press OK. Insert the TD key and select option 1. Enter 5 for N-S and 5 (=50%) for E-W if you want to award average to both pairs.

The detailed instructions are found in the Bridgemate Pro manual in the section called TD Menu:

www.bridgemate.com/…/BMmanual.pdf